Project Runway Episode 12: The Finale Collection

November 12, 2011 at 9:41 pm (Project Runway)

One designer, twelve challenges. This is the Studio 109A Challenge.

That is how I started this series of posts about the Project Runway Studio 109A Challenge back on August 10th, about one week after Project Runway Season 9 started. It’s three months later, and this post marks the end of Project Runway Studio 109A and the completion of my last challenge.

Project Runway Season 9 Episode 12 challenged the designers to create a mini collection that emphasized their overall fashion vision. The designers were taken to Governors Island in New York,where they drew inspiration from the beautiful sculptures, extraordinary views and landscapes.

Since I have never visited Governors Island, I decided to draw my inspiration from The North Carolina Museum of Art Park, which is home to over a dozen sculptures, wooded trails, and scenic paths.

Gyre, 1999, by Thomas Sayre

Crossroads, 2005, by Martha Jackson Jarvis

The Conversationalist, 1997 by Chakaia Booker

After spending a beautiful fall North Carolina afternoon walking the trails with my family, I came upon The Conversationalist  by Chakaia Booker made of interlacing repurposed tires. As an artist who has made a career of using repurposed objects in my work, I knew that this was the starting point for my final challenge.

I started with a black synthetic knit fabric. I was drawn to the texture of the fabric, with its woven silver metallic threads, which reminded me of how the the sculpture looked from a distance. I picked up a spool of imitation leather trim, a dark gray cotton for the lining, a lot of interfacing and fusible fleece.

The end result is an elegant evening bag, which even my Tim Gunn wannabe husband said was a nod to The Conversationalist sculpture. I would describe this bag as elegant with an edge, which I think definitely represents me as a designer.

Finale Purse - Project Runway Episode 12

Pin It

Armed with inspiration from all of the Project Runway Studio 109A challenges, new techniques, and a boost of confidence from selling my first bag, I am off to create a collection of handbags and accessories to show during a solo exhibition entitled Arm Candy, which will open at Artspace in Downtown Raleigh next May.

I will continue to blog about the collection, my work, and what makes me tick. And with that, I pronounce myself the winner of Project Runway Studio 109A and say my final auf wiedersehen.

Hosted by supermodel and fashion maven Heidi Klum, the hit reality series Project Runway provides budding designers with an opportunity to launch their careers in fashion, under the watchful eye of mentor and Liz Claiborne Chief Creative Officer Tim Gunn. In August, Lauren Van Hemert launched her own version of Project Runway in Studio 109A (her Downtown Raleigh Artspace Studio), in which week after week she is creating accessories inspired by each of the Project Runway Season 9 Challenges.

1 Comment

  1. wickedgreensmoothies said,

    Huge congratulations on finishing the Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

