From Studio 109A: And Now For Something Completely Different

May 5, 2011 at 6:50 pm (From Studio 109A)

 

“All artists get discouraged. All artists have deep inner wells of self-pity into which we periodically dive. All artists specialize in self-doubt. It is how we hone the creative imagination.” Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

Last August, I documented in great detail the evolution of “Through the Looking Glass.” The work I created for that Artspace exhibition was some of my best work. I recently told an artist friend of mine that “Through the Looking Glass” was my finest hour, a highlight of my career. So what’s happened since? Absolutely nothing.

In December, I decided that it was time to step away from jewelry for awhile and add an accessory line to The Ephemera Collection. The problem was that I never learned  to sew. In January, my husband bought me a sewing machine, and I started plowing through a book on sewing. Five months later, I have something to show for all my hours sewing fabric together and ripping seams apart.

This evening bag is inspired by a French circus poster. Fellow Artspace Artist Catherine Thornton made a mold of the Trapeze Artist for me, which I cast in polymer clay, painted with oil paint, and made into the handle. The rest of the bag is made of dupioni silk and satin.

Intended as a natural extension of my jewelry collection, the accessory line will incorporate vintage images along the same lines as the jewelry… luggage labels, French labels, and postcards and letters.

I am in the process of designing fabric that will feature some of my favorite images. In the meantime, come see The Trapeze Artist Evening Bag during The First Friday Gallery Walk, May 6th at Artspace in Downtown Raleigh and stay tuned for more From Studio 109A..

Leave a Reply

