From Studio 109A: Altered States

March 1, 2010 at 3:07 pm (From Studio 109A)

    This month, I have been working on my second altered book, inspired by Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland. For this project, I started with an oversized book (an  atlas), carved a niche, glued the pages together, and started weaving together pictures and text. Like my Out of the Box series, this mixed media composition contains an element (a brooch) that can be removed and worn.
    Most of this month has been consumed creating the structure of the book and the pages. For the brooch, I have been experimenting with a new approach to my image transfer techniques, canes, and found objects. The brooch is a work in progress.
    This Friday is the First Friday gallery walk in Downtown Raleigh. All of the Studios, including Studio 109A, will be open from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. I hope you will come take a peek at my altered book. In the meantime, check out this altered book project I created several years ago for the Sculpey web site.
Leave a Reply

